Inspirational Quote of the Day: One by Libertarian Harry Browne

Wikipedia

Harry Edson Browne[1] (June 17, 1933 – March 1, 2006) was an American writer, politician, and investment advisor. He was the Libertarian Party’s Presidential nominee in the U.S. elections of 1996 and 2000. He is the author of 12 books that in total have sold more than 2 million copies.[2]

Prior to his death, he was also working on a book called The War Racket: The Lies, Myths, and Propaganda that Feed the American War Machine. War, he contended, was just another government program, and was essentially flawed because “government never solves anything.” According to Jim Babka, “As Harry explained to me, the book was unlike any other he had ever written. Harry was well-read in his history, but after starting on the project he realized that ‘well-read’ wasn’t enough.” According to Browne’s wife, Pamela, he collected over 400 books, read almost all of them, and made copious notes. He was struggling with the book’s structure at the time of his death.[8]

7 thoughts on “Inspirational Quote of the Day: One by Libertarian Harry Browne

  1. “According to Browne’s wife, Pamela, he collected over 400 books, read almost all of them”.
    Pshaw.

    I owned over 1500 books for many years and read almost all of them but did not take copious notes, indeed I took no notes at all. I owned more than 200 books on WWII alone, and Nazi Germany, and maybe read 1000 or so library books on this one subject over the years.
    When I was 15 I averaged reading one novel every day, for several years. I was allowed access to the adult section of the public library from the age of 14. From the age of 19 or so I started reading almost entirely nonfiction, probably about 200 books per year for the next 30 years or so, and only 10 or so novels per year. I eased off a while back but still like to read hard copy books. Maybe only about 30 per year these days, about half are fiction. I have sold most of my books due to living a somewhat transient life these days.
    I have read many entire single books based on a narrow subject. For example:
    1. Was Roosevelt conned into inventing the Atom bombs, mostly by Jews?
    2. Did Roosevelt and Churchill know about Pearl Harbor in advance?
    3. Are military elites useful or a waste of money and resources?
    4. Are defensive walls cost effective or not, especially the Great Wall of China?
    5. Why did Rome destroy Carthage?
    6. How come so many German espionage agencies and spies were traitors to Nazi Germany?
    7. Why did Hitler start a war he could not win?

    Etc. etc.
    I am self-educated. My opinions are my own but influenced by the books I have read. TV has had very little influence on my thinking. Even as a young man I smelled a rat such as the Holoco$t documentaries did not fit with the facts from my reading. In WWII military books Jews are much less than 1% of the history. On TV, they are 100% of the WWII story.

    • I read the quote as indicating he read 400 books to put together that unpublished war is a racket book.

      You and I could probably enter a contest to see who’s read the most books. My mother would drive me to our new parish public library and I would fill up the trunk of our car with books. Then 10 days later, the process would be repeated. I especially liked to read encyclopedias and magazines.

      Unfortunately for me, I was not as awake as you.

      BTW, I had about 30,000 books in my house when it burned down, including most of Harry Browne’s books.

      • You win!
        I lived with a single mother and had to carry all the books on foot from the library. Curiously enough and many may not believe this, but I was walking home alone from the library when I first leaned that JFK had been shot. Not sure who told me or if I saw it on a billboard outisde the newsagent. So I can remember that day. I usually borrowed 3 books or so at a time.
        For me reading books was an escape from a rotten home life. Luckily perhaps my siblings and I were restricted as to TV viewing hours by my mother and my stepfather 33 years older than her. No TV after 7.30 pm and not too much at any other time. But I remember the character Paladin.
        I also liked the Texas Rangers and found the start inspirational. One fearless white man walking is joined by others in the same uniform and with the same goals and aims and walking direction – forward. My book hero at under 10 was Roland.
        My book hero today is Don Quixote and my current life resembles his.
        Chasing giant Coons and dark skinned windmills on behalf of beautiful white maidens who do not exist (in my life at least).

  2. Wow, I’m totally impressed with all three of you, Browne, Robert, & Dr. PJ. Kudos to the book readers! A lost art!

    You guys need to be contestants on “Jeopardy: The REAL History Version” (if such a thing were ever to exist).

    And what a tragedy re your 30k books burning w/the house (that’s a double tragedy). What a heartache!

    No comparison as a book reader as a girlllllll…..

    • I wrote five “books” as a kid, ages 8-11. Handwritten fiction stories, did my own “artwork” (no talent there), made the cardboard book covers, etc. My first “book,” at age 8 in 3rd grade, the teacher was so impressed she put it in the chalk holder at the bottom of the chalkboard for the whole class to see. But on parents’ night, the folks didn’t even notice. I was crushed.
      –Between ages 11-12, I typed out those same five books, pecking style typing, one key at a time. (No typing class until 9th grade.)

      I also had a spiral notebook full of poems I wrote during that same timeframe. The last poem in the notebook was re JFK being killed, 1963. Then puberty ruined everything. The childhood “creative streak” was basically over.

      No books in the home, but there was always Reader’s Digest, so I always read that. Loved their “Quotable Quotes” page.

      –Late ’70s-Early ’90s – Bible study, Bible books & literature. A good foundation for eventually “waking up” since “keeping an eye on the world news” was part of the “curriculum.”

      –All of 1990s – Health books, psychology books, etc. I never wanted to “borrow” library books because I *have to* write in my books, all over the edges, making notes, underlining, highlighting, etc. So I bought paperbacks instead.
      –That reading was also good as a second foundation for “waking up” since studying “all the weird diseases that nobody believes in” automatically leads you into “conspiracy health world” topics, Leonard Horowitz type stuff, & that was before the internet.

      –Enter Internet Early-2000s & Continuing. No more book reading (hated the small print by that time), & with computer + internet, it is SO EASY to copy/cut/paste tons of stuff, no more trying to fit notes into the margins of books. Plus, you can make the font bigger!
      –Internet > Greatest invention ever post-Gutenberg! There’s no greater way to fully “wake up” than to jump in with both feet. I always say, “I was BORN for the Internet!” Does everyone else here feel that way?
      –Never bored, never boring. Never lonely. Readers can never be bored nor lonely, I don’t think. What say ye?
      –Plus, Quotes galore are online (as Saboteur shows every posting session).

      • “But on parents’ night, the folks didn’t even notice. I was crushed.”
        Soba tear, I think this was very common in the good old days. I came top of the class, won the running races and high jump, and nobody said anything. As I got older I got more and more difficult at school and did almost no homework for several years – yet stayed in the top classes. Neither my mother nor father ever said one word to me about either my good performance at ages 6-12 or my poor performance at age 12 – 16 at which time I left school and went to work.
        “The good old days” never existed. At least, people were 99% white in those days.

      • To Robert (hope this ends up UNDER your comment)…

        Sorry about your clueless parents who took no note of your young accomplishments nor your later “deliquencies.” Yet your own good brains kept you going.

        One of my observations in life is that “**ALL** Parents Hurt Their Own Kids” due to ignorance & apathy. (I’m not speaking of physical/sexual abuse, nor drugs-booze-crazy households, divorces, etc., but simple IGNORANCE.)

        Of course, most “parents” start out young themselves (in the “old days” moreso than now), so they were Dumb As Dirt themselves to begin with (Life Experience-wise).

        In the “old days,” parents thought all they were required to do was plop out babies, feed, clothe, shelter them (the “physical” necessities). Any personal “emotional” interaction on a regular basis to help “grow you up” & “how to do life” > guidance, teaching, nurturing, bonding, was Nil. Kids are not just a Physical Being with physical needs, but an Emotional One as well. Mind Body Spirit.

        Kids are also not necessarily “clueless” just because they are in a smaller “package.” I think parents must think that:
        –little kids do not have any brains at all;
        –& that they are not constantly observing & analyzing their surroundings & the “big people” running the show. (But we were. 🙂 ).

        Unless a wise parent teaches their kids how to be wise parents themselves, the ignorance re child-raising continues one generation after another. I’ve seen it in my own extended family. It’s shocking it still continues but it does.

        Well, I could talk all day on this subject. ‘Til next time! 😉

Leave a Reply. Comments Policy Forbids Insulting Other Commenters.

