Breaking: Rock and roll legend Chuck Berry dies

BBC

Rock and roll legend Chuck Berry has died aged 90, police in US state of Missouri report.

The singer was found unresponsive at lunchtime on Saturday, St Charles County police said.

Berry’s seven-decade career boasted a string of hits, including classics like Roll Over Beethoven and Johnny B Goode.

He received a lifetime achievement Grammy in 1984 and was among the first inductees to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1986.

Wikipedia tells the stories of Chuck Berry’s arrest for armed robbery as a teen in the 1940s, his arrest for intercourse with a 14 year old girl in the late 50s, and his conviction for tax evasion. He was also successfully sued for planting a camera in a women’s rest room.

7 thoughts on “Breaking: Rock and roll legend Chuck Berry dies

  1. Pingback: Breaking: Rock and roll legend Chuck Berry dies | Afro Futurism

  2. Wow! Lots of well-knowns dying recently. Robert Osborne of TCM the other day. Such a soft spoken, kind, scholarly man who knew so much about old movies.

    What can be said about Chuck Berry? Yes, he had a checkered past, but thanks to my Mother who frequently played rock n roll, my father a fan, too, along with classical music, HA, I got into the groove and valued him for his talent. Great guitar player.

    Met him and Stevie Wonder at the LA Airport one time listening to one of Michael Jackson’s new songs. What could I say other than, “Keeping up with the competition. are you?” Not very clever, but older Berry was open to chatting.

    Favorites Maybelline, Sweet Little Sixteen, School Days, Little Queenie, Reelin & Rockin, Run Rudolph, Run, Memphis Tennessee, Roll Over Beethoven.

    An era when lyrics were clean and everyone got up and danced to Chuck Berry.

  3. The first Lp I ever played on my Mickey Mouse portable record player was a Chuck Berry album. It gave me goose bumps. I played a Beatles album after it. It was “Meet the Beatles” and I played the 2nd side for an hour. I then went back to the Chuck Berry album, and I played it until my Dad told me I had to go to bed (about 4 hours). I remember that night like yesterday (it was 1977). Holy fuck, Chuck was the King of Rock n Roll…

  4. Pingback: Celebrities and ‘change agents’ | Vanishing American II

Leave a Reply. Comments Policy Forbids Insulting Other Commenters.

